top of page
  • Benjamin Wilcox

Alma 36-38

Watch the video presentation on YouTube at: Alma 36-38 Video


To purchase slides or handouts, go to: Teaching with Power Etsy Shop

 

NOTE

First off, a little note. There are a couple of sections within these chapters that I’ve already covered rather extensively in previous videos. I drew in much of Alma 36 back in the Mosiah 25-28 lesson where Alma first describes his conversion experience. If you didn’t really cover those principles before and would like to focus more on that aspect of these chapters, I encourage you to go to that video (and I’ll provide a link up at the top of the screen) and watch from time stamp 39:53 to 1:06:30.

 

Also, I drew in a portion of Alma 37’s teachings back in the 1 Nephi 16-22 lesson since that is when we are first introduced to the Liahona and Alma 37 draws heavily on the imagery of the Liahona as a symbol for the scriptures. You could click on this link above and watch from time stamp 2:57 to 27:22 if you’re interested in focusing your attention there.

 

That being said, you might be wondering if there is going to be anything left to talk about in these chapters. Well don’t worry, the scriptures always have plenty for us to feast on and these chapters are no exception.

 

OBJECT

Find an instruction manual of some sort around your home. It could be one from an appliance you purchased,  some piece of technology, or your car’s owner manual.

 

ICEBREAKER

And for an icebreaker, pull out that manual and ask: What is the purpose of an instruction manual? How would I answer that question? An instruction manual provides detailed steps on how to use a product correctly and ensures that the user can operate it without issues. Instruction manuals will often include safety information, maintenance advice, and troubleshooting tips. So you can see that an instruction manual can be an incredibly valuable resource.  Well, is there such a thing as a parenting instruction manual? Is there a place you can go with all the necessary information a parent would need to raise a child effectively, safely, and competently?

 

I not sure that such a manual exists. If anyone is aware of that manual, please let me know so I can get my hands on one. However, that being said, allow me to share with you what I feel is the closest thing we have to a parenting manual. And at that point I hold up my scriptures and say: The scriptures contain some of the greatest lessons and advice for parents than any other books. Within the pages of the scriptures we can find examples of good parents and bad parents and we can learn from both. We can learn from Adam and Eve, Lehi and Sariah, Mary and Joseph, Abraham and Sarah, and many, many others. And here in this week’s Come Follow Me chapters, we get to learn from Alma the Younger.

 

Up to this point in our study of the Book of Alma, we’ve seen him serve in his roles of chief judge, prophet, warrior and protector, and missionary. Now, we get to observe Alma in arguably his most important role. As a father. I think it’s thought-provoking that of all the titles the scriptures give us for God, which of them does he seem to prefer most? Heavenly Father. The title of Father. That role must be of utmost importance to him. So parenting, or influencing the younger generation is one of most critical things that we can do. Alma chapters 36-42 contain Alma’s teachings and advice to his three sons, Helaman, Shiblon, and Corianton. So we’re going to be viewing Alma in this role in both this and next week’s lessons.

 

The first thing we want to establish though is to take a look at a description of the kind of world that Alma is trying to raise his sons in.  We’re going to find that description in Alma 35:15. What was the environment like for him as a Father?

 

15 Now Alma, being grieved for the iniquity of his people, yea for the wars, and the bloodsheds, and the contentions which were among them; and having been to declare the word, or sent to declare the word, among all the people in every city; and seeing that the hearts of the people began to wax hard, and that they began to be offended because of the strictness of the word, his heart was exceedingly sorrowful.

 

Things aren’t going well in Alma’s world, are they? It was a time of iniquity, wars, bloodsheds, contentions, hard heartedness, and a time where people were offended because of the strictness of the word. Sound familiar? That’s not a bad description of 2024 is it? It’s not easy to raise faithful children under such circumstances, but Alma is going to show us how.

 

SEARCH

What I’d like to do with you today is point out some phrases and verses that I feel can teach us some very powerful parenting principles. We’re going to examine TEN of them today. And a quick note here. Throughout the lesson, for the sake of brevity and simplicity, I will mainly refer to the influence that PARENTS can have on their children. But please realize that these principles apply to anyone who has the opportunity to influence youth. So these apply equally to grandparents, siblings, aunts and uncles, youth leaders, teachers, coaches, and many others. They are not exclusive to parents. So this lesson can be instructive and relevant to more than just mothers and fathers.

 

As a teacher, if you only had one lesson period in which to teach, you obviously wouldn’t have time to cover all ten principles. So I would invite you to prayerfully select the ones that you feel are the most important and relevant to your particular audience.

 

I will also include in the handouts this a page with all 10 principles displayed. If you wished, you could cover the principles you wished in class, and then hand this out at the end with the remaining principles you didn’t have time to cover and invite your students to review those additional principles at home.

 

COUNSEL WITH THEM SEPARATELY

Our first principle then actually comes from the last couple of verses in chapter 35. What wise parenting practice does Alma do in Alma 35:16?

 

16 Therefore, he caused that his sons should be gathered together, that he might give unto them everyone his charge, separately, concerning the things pertaining unto righteousness. And we have an account of his commandments, which he gave unto them according to his own record.

 

What did Alma do to help his sons? He gathered them together and gave each one his charge separately. For those of you that are parents, have you ever tried raising one child exactly the same way as you did another? And, how did that work out for you? Certainly there are general principles of righteous parenting, but how they are applied is going to be different for each child. They each have their own unique personalities, gifts, problems, and challenges. We are going to need to give each their charge separately and teach them according to their individual needs. These needs are often best addressed one on one. You’ll notice that Alma’s messages are individually tailored to that son’s needs. The guidance Alma gives to Helaman is unique compared with the guidance he gives Shiblon and then Corianton. Something that I try do in my family is to give each of my children a regular Father’s interview where we discuss their challenges, their goals, and their habits. But I do those interviews separately. One on one, and no two interviews are alike. So, counsel with your children one by one as individuals

 

STIR UP THEIR FAITH THROUGH TESTIMONY

Another principle.  Take a look at the following phrases and ask yourself what Alma is doing here?

 

36:1 I Swear unto you,

36:3  I do know

36:4  I know of myself

36:5 God, by the mouth of his holy angel made these things known unto me

36:26 I do know . . .

36:26 the knowledge which I have is of God

36:28 I know he will raise me at the last day

36:30 You ought to know as I do know

 

What is Alma doing here with his son? All these "I know’s”. What do we call that when we tell other people things that we know of a spiritual nature? He’s bearing his testimony. Perhaps the greatest gift a mother or father can give to their child is their own testimony. Some of the best counsel I’ve ever heard on the power of human testimony comes from Joseph Smith in the Lectures on Faith. He says:

 

"The reason why we have been thus particular on this part of our subject, is, that this class may see by what means it was that God became an object of faith among men after the fall; and what it was that stirred up the faith of multitudes to feel after him; to search after a knowledge of his character, perfections and attributes, until they became extensively acquainted with him; and not only commune with him, and behold his glory, but be partakers of his power, and stand in his presence.”

Joseph Smith Jr.  (Lectures on Faith 2:34)

 

Did you catch the key phrase in there? As a parent, what is my most important charge? To stir up the faith of my children to feel after God, so that they can become extensively acquainted with him, and commune with him and behold his glory, and be partakers of his power, so that eventually they can stand in his presence. But how do I stir up their faith? What action that I can take as a parent is going to help stir up my children’s faith? Joseph continues later:

 

"We have now clearly set forth how it is, and how it was, that God became an object of faith for rational beings; and also, upon what foundation the testimony was based, which excited the enquiry and diligent search of the ancient saints, to seek after and obtain a knowledge of the glory of God: and we have seen that it was human testimony, and human testimony only, that excited this enquiry, in the first instance in their minds—it was the credence they gave to the testimony of their fathers—this testimony having aroused their minds to enquire after the knowledge of God, the enquiry frequently terminated, indeed, always terminated, when rightly pursued, in the most glorious discoveries, and eternal certainty.”

Joseph Smith Jr. (Lectures on Faith 2:56)

 

So how was it that God became an object of faith for rational beings? What excited that inquiry and diligent search, to seek after and obtain of knowledge of the glory of God? Human testimony, and human testimony only. That testimony aroused their minds, which eventually will lead them to eternal certainty. And that’s what we want for our children isn’t it? Eternal certainty. Testimony inspires that.

 

I was very fortunate to have parents who stirred up my faith. My parents frequently bore their testimonies to me. I heard them express their faith often. In family home evenings, at the pulpit on fast Sundays, at various unplanned moments when the situation lent itself to the opportunity.  I remember stories that they would tell of their answered prayers and faith stirring experiences. Those stories became family scripture in a way. My father’s ranch stories, the rat story, and my mother’s getting lost in the snow story. I’m not going to take the time to go into those, but really, they are scripture to me. They stirred up my faith as a child and continue to bless me. As parents or those who influence youth in any way, we need to look for opportunities to stir up our children’s faith with our own testimonies. 

 

The Book of Mormon is full of examples of this as well.

What inspired Nephi to pray and gain a greater understanding of the scriptures? The testimony of his father Lehi,  He said that he wanted to see the things that his father saw. (1 Nephi 11:11)

 

What inspired Enos to cry out in mighty prayer in the wilderness? The words that his Father had often taught him. (Enos 1:3)

 

What inspired the Stripling warriors to put their trust and faith in God. The faith of their mothers. They said, "We do not doubt that our mothers knew it”. (Alma 56:10)

 

And Alma the younger in the throes of guilty agony, remembered something. What was it? The words of his father talking about truth.   (Alma 36:17)

 

And there are many more examples that we could point out of parents stirring up the faith of their children. Our children need to hear our testimonies. Hopefully, as they leave our homes and constant influence, they can look back and say, “We do not doubt that our parents knew it”.

 

TEACH BY EXAMPLE

Next principle:

36:3 I beseech of thee that thou wilt hear my words and learn of me.

36:23 After relating the story of his conversion, he says “I had been born of God”.

36:24 "I have labored without ceasing that I might bring souls unto repentance”

36:26  26 For because of the word which he has imparted unto me, behold, many have been born of God, and have tasted as I have tasted, and have seen eye to eye as I have seen; therefore they do know of these things of which I have spoken, as I do know; and the knowledge which I have is of God.

36:27 And I have been supported under trials and troubles of every kind, yea, and in all manner of afflictions; yea, God has delivered me from prison, and from bonds, and from death; yea, and I do put my trust in him, and he will still deliver me.

36:29  29 Yea, and he has also brought our fathers out of the land of Jerusalem; and he has also, by his everlasting power, delivered them out of bondage and captivity, from time to time even down to the present day; and I have always retained in remembrance their captivity; yea, and ye also ought to retain in remembrance, as I have done, their captivity.

36:30 30 But behold, my son, this is not all; for ye ought to know as I do know, that inasmuch as ye shall keep the commandments of God ye shall prosper in the land; and ye ought to know also, that inasmuch as ye will not keep the commandments of God ye shall be cut off from his presence. Now this is according to his word.

And then in 37:2

2 And I also command you that ye keep a record of this people, according as I have done, upon the plates of Nephi, and keep all these things sacred which I have kept, even as I have kept them; for it is for a wise purpose that they are kept.

 

Do you see what Alma is doing here? He is teaching by example. He doesn’t just expect his sons to trust in God and retain in remembrance and come to know the truth, but to do those things, as he has done. He’s clearly marked the path before them. It’s very difficult to expect our children to do things that we ourselves aren’t doing or haven’t done. There is a verse in the Doctrine and Covenants that I like to go to help my students understand a foundational spiritual law when it comes to matters of character and Christlike attributes. In magnetism, the law is opposites attract. Is the same true in spiritual matters? Doctrine and Covenants 88:40

 

40 For intelligence cleaveth unto intelligence; wisdom receiveth wisdom; truth embraceth truth; virtue loveth virtue; light cleaveth unto light; mercy hath compassion on mercy and claimeth her own; justice continueth its course and claimeth its own; judgment goeth before the face of him who sitteth upon the throne and governeth and executeth all things.

 

So you see, in spiritual matters, it’s not opposites that attract, but likes that do. If we want patient children, then we ourselves must be patient. If we want our children to be kind to others, we need to be kind to others and them. If we want our children to love the scriptures, then we must love the scriptures. If we want our children to develop strong testimonies, then we need to develop strong testimonies. Now, we may have made some mistakes in the past or not always lived our lives as we should have. At times, we may need to encourage our children not to live as we once did. Alma the younger is a perfect example of this. He lived a rebellious youth didn’t he. But he didn’t let that cripple him as a parent. He changed and started to live as he should and taught by his righteous example from that point on. That can work. But expecting our children to live a certain way WHILE we are not, is probably futile. I’m afraid that, "Do as I say and not do as I do" is not going to prove an effective means of inspiring righteous living or “stirring up faith.”

 

TEACH THEM TO LOVE AND VALUE THE SCRIPTURES

Alma 37 is focused on one specific topic. To introduce that topic, I might do a mid-lesson icebreaker. I’d show them the following pictures and ask, “What do they all have in common?” And then you can tell them that there is a hint somewhere in verses 1-10 of Alma 37.  What is it? They are all small and simple things that bring to pass great ones. You’re probably all familiar with the well-known message of verses 6-7 where Alma reminds us that

 

6 Now ye may suppose that this is foolishness in me; but behold I say unto you, that by small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.

7 And the Lord God doth work by means to bring about his great and eternal purposes; and by very small means the Lord doth confound the wise and bringeth about the salvation of many souls.

 

Now you can apply that verse to many different small and simple things, but the small and simple thing that Alma is specifically referring to here, is the scriptures. Alma is going to spend an entire, rather lengthy chapter explaining to his son how important the scriptures are. The next great thing a parent can do for their child is to teach them how to love and value the scriptures. And in one manner of speaking, the scriptures are small and simple things. Just so much paper, and leather, and ink. The writings of a people that lived hundreds of years ago. Could what they experienced and learned so long ago really have anything to do with us and our day? Yes! That’s what makes them so amazing. They are incredibly relevant. I remember often hearing my Father say, “There isn’t a problem you can have, a question you can wonder, that isn’t addressed in some way by the scriptures.” I hope that our time together this year has helped you to recognize that relevance even more.

 

Or perhaps we view scripture study as a small and simple commandment. Really, how much good is reading them going to do for  me. Is it that important? Well, Yes! What great things have come into your life through the power and influence of the scriptures. I suppose I can only speak for myself,  but they truly have shaped my life. They’ve provided me with heroes and role models to look up to and pattern my life after. They’ve given me comfort at times of difficulty and trial. They’ve offered me counsel on difficult questions and doubts that I’ve faced.  They’ve given me guidance on making important decisions. They’ve invited the Spirit into my life. Not only have they done great things for the world at large, but great things for me as an individual.

 

What are some of those “great things” that parents teach their children about the scriptures? Read chapter 37 with that question in mind.

 

HANDOUT

And to help a class of young people or your children find those things, you could try doing the following crossword puzzle. The phrases that they find will highlight all the great things the scriptures can do for us.

 

Let’s highlight these as we go through the answers.

 

ACROSS

2. They allow God to "show forth his _______ unto future generations" (37:14, 18, 19) POWER

As I study them, I watch how God works with his children, and how his power can bless and be made manifest in their lives.

7. They will bring us to our own "________ land" (37:45) PROMISED

The scriptures are leading us somewhere. Our own promised land of eternal life. They will help get us there.

8. The scriptures are like our own personal ___________ (37:38) LIAHONA

Such a great metaphor. The scriptures are a compass. Don’t try to navigate the wilderness of life without your compass. Your own personal Liahona, or your liable to get lost.

9. They bring people "to the __________ of their God unto the salvation of their souls" (37:8) KNOWLEDGE

The scriptures teach us doctrine, principles, truth, and knowledge. The glory of is intelligence, or in other words, light and truth.

10. They will "________ to you a straight course to eternal bliss" (37:44) POINT

The scriptures are straightforward and easy to grasp. Eternal bliss is our reward for following them.

11. They have been preserved "for a _____ purpose" (37:12,14,18). WISE

What is that wise purpose? Everything that we’re talking about right now.

 

DOWN

1. If we _______ to them, we may live forever (37:46) LOOK

Sounds simple right. Small and simple. Just look. Don’t get slothful, don’t get skeptical. Study your scriptures, and live.

3. They "_________ the memory"(37:8) ENLARGE

The scriptures help us to remember and by remembering, we stay committed.

4. They bring many "to the knowledge of the ________"  (37:19) TRUTH

5. They bring many "unto ____________" (37:9) REPENTANCE

6. They "_________ many of the error of their ways" (37:8) CONVINCE

Hopefully, our study of the scriptures will lead us to be better people. That we will apply those truths and change when needed.

 

TAKING IT TO HEART

At the bottom of the handout, I’ve included a Taking it to Heart question. “As you look at that list of blessings on the crossword puzzle, which have you recognized in your own life?”

 

For me, it’s the compass. The scriptures have given me guidance. I love the outdoors and I know how important it is to know exactly where you are at, and where you are going. As long as I have a map, or a GPS, I can travel through the backcountry with confidence and determination. You’ve heard me talk about my love of canyoneering in the past on this channel. Well, there is an unfortunate situation in a popular area in Utah for technical canyoneering where the entrance to a very popular beginner canyon just happens to be quite close to the entrance to one of the most difficult and technically demanding canyons in all of Utah. And groups have inadvertently ended up rappelling into the wrong canyon and becoming trapped when they realize that they are in way over their heads in difficulty. You don’t want to drop into Sandthrax canyon when you’re intending to drop into Leprechaun. One of the most recent incidents of this was just two years ago when an entire church group of young men ended up in Sandthrax canyon and had to be winched out by helicopter one by one. What do I do to avoid such things. I have GPS map and track that shows me not only where I’m supposed to go but also exactly where I’m at, making it virtually impossible to drop into the wrong canyon. Well, I believe that the scriptures offer that same kind of spiritual protection. They have given me a sure pathway through the dangers and challenges of life. You almost can’t get lost when you are being guided by God’s word.

 

I love something that BYU professor Arthur Henry King said about the power of the scriptures:

"When we have the scriptures in our heart and our mind and our soul, then we have a means of measuring all things; we have a means of judging everything else. . . . If we are soaked in the scriptures, we shan't want to look at bad things on our walls or listen to bad music, because they won't fit. We shall intuitively reject them, just as we shall embrace what is good, because we shall have in our minds a firm and sound sense of what is in good taste." (Abundance of the Heart, pp. 129-30.)

 

And that quote acts as a perfect segue for our next principle.

 

SHIELD THEM FROM EVIL INFLUENCES

There is a large section of chapter 37 that is focused on instructions regarding the 24 Jaredite plates found by Limhi’s people. In those instructions, Alma gives his son a warning regarding some of the information found in those plates. Verse 27.

 

27 And now, my son, I command you that ye retain all their oaths, and their covenants, and their agreements in their secret abominations; yea, and all their signs and their wonders ye shall keep from this people, that they know them not, lest peradventure they should fall into darkness also and be destroyed.

 

That tells me that there were certain things in the Jaredite records that were not appropriate for Helaman to pass on—that Alma worried that if those things were to be revealed, it could cause them to ALSO fall into darkness. What’s the application here? There are certain things that we should not expose our children to, certain evil influences that we should exert all our powers to protect them from. Now that’s not a very modern idea. We live in an age where people feel like we need to be exposed to every ugly, dirty, corrupt, and disturbing thing that anybody has ever done or even imagined because, hey, that’s the real world. We live in a time where movies, music, books, magazines, video games, and websites are full of sleazy, violent, dark, disturbing, and shocking content. And those who decide to try and insulate themselves from that, to shield their children from being influenced by it are often called sheltered, naive, or looking at life through rose-colored glasses. Well if that’s the case, three cheers for living a “sheltered” life. I don’t need to see that garbage. My children don’t need to hear that language, or see that content, or understand that perversion in order to live successful, happy, and productive lives. They just don’t. We should be careful what we allow our children and ourselves to come into contact with, because, like Alma says, “peradventure, they should fall into darkness also, and be destroyed”.

 

I’m grateful for amazing parents who did this for me, and even though at times I complained about their strict standards concerning media, I appreciate their efforts to protect me from the coarse and evil influences of the world. Hollywood does not love our children, don’t let it raise them. We should raise them. Instead, we can teach them what good movies are like, and what good music sounds like, and what good entertainment and diversion look like. That way, we can protect them from “falling into darkness also”.

 

TEACH THEM OBEDIENCE TO THE COMMANDMENTS WHILE THEY’RE YOUNG

Another idea in verse 35

35 O, remember, my son, and learn wisdom in thy youth; yea, learn in thy youth to keep the commandments of God.

The message is simple. Teach them when they are young. It’s never too early to start teaching your children righteous principles. If we can successfully stir up our children’s faith when they are young, chances are they will remain true to it, even if they stray for a time. This advice is reminiscent of the famous proverb.

 

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.  (Proverbs 22:6)

 

TEACH THEM TO PRAY

Our next principle in verses 36-37

36 Yea, and cry unto God for all thy support; yea, let all thy doings be unto the Lord, and whithersoever thou goest let it be in the Lord; yea, let all thy thoughts be directed unto the Lord; yea, let the affections of thy heart be placed upon the Lord forever.

37 Counsel with the Lord in all thy doings, and he will direct thee for good; yea, when thou liest down at night lie down unto the Lord, that he may watch over you in your sleep; and when thou risest in the morning let thy heart be full of thanks unto God; and if ye do these things, ye shall be lifted up at the last day.

 

What’s the parenting principle here? What is Alma counseling his son to do? Teach your children to pray. Let them see you praying. Share examples of times when your prayers have been answered. I think one of the reasons we are encouraged to have family prayers is so that our children can hear what communication with God sounds like. Hopefully they can hear sincerity and devotion in our voices and not just vain repetitions.

 

PRAISE AND VALIDATE THEM

Chapter 38 contains Alma’s words to his son Shiblon and there are some similar thoughts here, but I would like to point out two principles I see here. First, what is Alma doing in verses 2-4?

 

2 And now, my son, I trust that I shall have great joy in you, because of your steadiness and your faithfulness unto God; for as you have commenced in your youth to look to the Lord your God, even so I hope that you will continue in keeping his commandments; for blessed is he that endureth to the end.

3 I say unto you, my son, that I have had great joy in thee already, because of thy faithfulness and thy diligence, and thy patience and thy long-suffering among the people of the Zoramites.

4 For I know that thou wast in bonds; yea, and I also know that thou wast stoned for the word's sake; and thou didst bear all these things with patience because the Lord was with thee; and now thou knowest that the Lord did deliver thee.

 

What’s Alma doing here? He’s praising his son. He’s expressing confidence in him. He’s validating his faith and efforts. We too can look for opportunities to praise our children. When they do something right, when they make good decisions, when they demonstrate positive qualities, recognize them. Build them up. It’s so easy to point out their faults, their shortcomings, and to feel the need to correct them with discipline. And granted, discipline has its place. But we can seek to balance that with praise, with encouragement, with support. Find the good and magnify it.

 

TEACH THEM BALANCE AND CONTROL

Another principle. Verse 10-12. And here, we maybe get a little bit of a peek into Shiblon’s character. We know that he is a very good boy or man. He had suffered greatly as a missionary to the Zoramites but had stayed true and bore all those things patience and faith. But there seems to be a caution here.

 

10 And now, as ye have begun to teach the word even so I would that ye should continue to teach; and I would that ye would be diligent and temperate in all things.

11 See that ye are not lifted up unto pride; yea, see that ye do not boast in your own wisdom, nor of your much strength.

12 Use boldness, but not overbearance; and also see that ye bridle all your passions, that ye may be filled with love; see that ye refrain from idleness.

 

That seems to suggest that maybe Shiblon is good, and he knows it and possibly could come off as being a little overzealous or maybe even a bit prideful, possibly.  Alma encourages him to be temperate in all things. To not boast of his much wisdom and strength. And then that excellent scripture. Use boldness, but not overbalance, bridle your passions, that ye may be filled with love.

 

The principle being taught here is one of “Balance” and “Control.” We should seek to teach our children these principles. Do you remember that old movie from the 80’s, the Karate Kid, and all Daniel wanted to do at first was to learn how to punch and kick. But before all of that Mr. Miyagi had him do all that manual labor. Why? To engrain certain controlled moves into his reflexes and then he took him to the ocean waves to help him learn balance. We too have got to learn those fundamentals. We need to balanced, or temperate. Yes, we need to be bold, but not overbearing. We can push any principle too far. We all have passions, but those passions need to be bridled or controlled, not destroyed or buried. We need to bridle our self-confidence, a good thing, before it becomes uncontrolled arrogance or boasting. We need to bridle our love and attraction, a good thing, before it becomes uncontrolled lust. We need to bridle our courage and willingness to confront the blameworthy, a good thing, before it becomes uncontrolled anger or unrighteous dominion. We need to bridle ambition, a good thing, before it becomes uncontrolled selfishness.

 

POINT THEM TO JESUS CHRIST

Finally, one of the most important things we can do for our children. Please study the following sets of verses from Alma’s counsels to his sons. And I’m including a few verses from next week’s chapters where Alma is speaking to his third son Corianton so that you can see that he follows this principle with each of his sons. What common thread do you see in this set of verses?

 

So for Helaman, Alma 36:17-19

17 And it came to pass that as I was thus racked with torment, while I was harrowed up by the memory of my many sins, behold, I remembered also to have heard my father prophesy unto the people concerning the coming of one Jesus Christ, a Son of God, to atone for the sins of the world.

18 Now, as my mind caught hold upon this thought, I cried within my heart: O Jesus, thou Son of God, have mercy on me, who am in the gall of bitterness, and am encircled about by the everlasting chains of death.

19 And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more.

 

For Shiblon, Alma 38:9

9 And now, my son, I have told you this that ye may learn wisdom, that ye may learn of me that there is no other way or means whereby man can be saved, only in and through Christ. Behold, he is the life and the light of the world. Behold, he is the word of truth and righteousness.

 

And then for Corianton, this phrase from Alma 39:13

 

13 That ye turn to the Lord with all your mind, might, and strength;

 

And then verse 15 in that same chapter:

 

15 And now, my son, I would say somewhat unto you concerning the coming of Christ. Behold, I say unto you, that it is he that surely shall come to take away the sins of the world; yea, he cometh to declare glad tidings of salvation unto his people.

 

What’s the common thread? Alma seeks to point each of his sons to Christ—to turn to him with all their mind, might, and strength. To rely on him. To Helaman he related the story of his own conversion to Christ and how it was the teachings of HIS father about Christ that gave him the confidence to reach out to Jesus while in the throes of his own repentance process.  To Shiblon he reminds him that it is only through Christ that we can be saved. And with Corianton, he encourages him to turn to the Lord as he is the one that will come to take away the sins of the world and bring salvation to all his people.

 

We too can seek to point our children to Christ—to help them learn to rely on Him, to love Him, and to turn to Him in their times of spiritual need. You might recall the many times this year where we have talked about Jesus’s role as a Father as well—that he becomes the Father of our covenant when we are born again and baptized. Let’s be sure to help our children to Come Follow Him. It’s nice to know that we, as parents don’t have to raise our children alone. We can find comfort in the fact that each of our children have two other sets of parents to rely on and guide them. They have their Heavenly Father and Mother to bless and help them. They have their Earthly Father and Mother, and then they have their spiritual, covenant Father and Mother, Jesus Christ, and his Church to raise and counsel them. So let’s be sure to put our children in the best possible situation to be influenced by that set of parents as well. So let’s take them to Church. Let’s guide them down the covenant path and the various ordinances that a disciple takes as they grow up in God. Let’s teach them about Jesus, tell them the stories of Jesus, and familiarize them with his teachings. We can place pictures of Christ in our homes. We can speak often of him and assure that our children hear our testimonies of Christ frequently. We can teach them to rely on the atonement of Jesus Christ and look to him for a remission of their sins.

 

TRUTH

Do you see how the scriptures can become an excellent parenting manual for us? And these are not the only chapters in the Book of Mormon that can help us in that area. They’re just a little more direct since we’re watching Alma in his role as a father. And we’re not done here. Next week we’ll continue with this idea as we watch Alma work with a wayward child. Maybe some of you wonder what you can do when your child becomes rebellious or makes serious errors. We’re going to gain some great insights into that as we watch Alma work with and teach his son Corianton. But let’s take a moment to review all the principles we’ve just covered. Here they are in one list.

 

TAKING IT TO HEART

What powerful parenting principle has impacted you the most during this study? Have you felt the Spirit tugging at you in any certain direction to take action in one of these areas.

 

I WILL GO AND DO

If it has, what is your plan for putting that prompting into practice?

 

VIDEO

A video that you might consider showing at some point during the lesson is this following message from former apostle Elder Robert D. Hales. It’s called “Parenting: Touching the Hearts of Our Youth.”  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cxHd773Ya0 ) And as you watch, one simple discussion question to keep in mind. What counsel do you personally find most impactful from Elder Hales? 

 

CONCLUSION

Well, there are other great parenting principles in these chapters, but I hope that the scriptures have given all of us some inspiration and counsel on what we perhaps could do more or better.

 

Like I said at the beginning, influencing the younger generation is perhaps one of the most important things we can do in this life. The Lord organized the human race into families for a specific purpose. We are one of the only species on earth that requires parents to remain with and guide and help their young for years and years before sending them off into the world on their own. And even then, we continue to guide and connect with and seek to righteously influence them. Now my mother has passed away, but I’m almost 50 and my Father continues to be a guiding, loving, and supporting influence in my life.  I hope that we can all follow Alma’s example of stirring up the faith of his children. As a father, I know how difficult it is to raise children these days, and parents are often so self-critical and quick to condemn themselves for their shortcomings. Trust me, there are no perfect parents. The purpose of this lesson was not to give us more ammunition to censure ourselves or make us feel inferior, but rather, inspiration to try something more or to find an area where we can improve and put it into practice. Ultimately, our children and youth will have to make their own decisions and be responsible for them, but I pray that we can give them the best possible chance to live a happy, righteous, faith-filled life. And where we fall short, I believe that God, who is also their Father, can help to make up the rest. 




1,755 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page